FANDOM


Special Summon-only monsters (often incorrectly referred to as Semi-Nomi monsters) are monsters with the text "This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. This card can only be Special Summoned...". If a monster is a Special Summon only monster, then it means it must be Special Summoned by its listed effect before it can be Special Summoned by another effect. "Aqua Spirit", "Harpie Lady Sisters", and "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" are all Special Summon only monster.

After a Special Summon only monster has been Special Summoned properly, it can be Special Summoned through other effects. This only lasts as long as the monster does not return to the Hand or Deck. As long as the monster remains on the field, in the Graveyard, or removed from play, you can Special Summon it again with other card effects.

Example:

Note that Fusion Monsters, Ritual Monsters and Synchro Monsters are treated as Special Summon only monsters, unless stated otherwise. Also unless stated otherwise, Fusion Monsters are properly Special Summoned by a Fusion Summon, Ritual Monsters are properly Special Summoned by a Ritual Summon, and Synchro Monsters are properly Special Summoned by a Synchro Summon.

There is also a sub-type of monsters called "Nomi".

See alsoEdit

Ad blocker interference detected!


Wikia is a free-to-use site that makes money from advertising. We have a modified experience for viewers using ad blockers

Wikia is not accessible if you’ve made further modifications. Remove the custom ad blocker rule(s) and the page will load as expected.